• Dear Guest,

You're browsing our forum as a Guest meaning you can only see a portion of the forum in read-only mode.
    To view all forum nodes and be able to create threads/posts please register or log-in with your existing account.

TwinStar team

Backporting features from newer versions

hbee

I hope title did not cause any brain hemorrhage for the most dedicated Classic purists...

I would like to raise some discussion about the features found in newer versions while we are waiting for the server to go online. I suppose one could raise a point that the Classic experience would be ruined by the most minute changes but in my opinion, some flexibility could be in order if this would make the server more popular.

The proper implementation would (to my knowledge) require the additional APIs not found in Classic... I have no deeper knowledge of the back-end used in these projects so maybe the developers have slightly better ideas how these could be implemented. Maybe some dedicated chat channel and a custom addon (could the look even be ripped from the retail version where this feature is already found?) could be used?

1) LFG. Not the version where the group is teleported to the instance, obviously, but one where players could announce the desired instance and role and join a common queue instead of desperately spamming Trade or World channels for a group.

2) Achievements. I would argue achievements would increase the activity of the players greatly (and thus drive more players to the World instead of jumping on the IF mailbox or on the roof of OGs bank). What I can remember from the retail, people were doing the most boring and useless tasks to gain the additional 10 achievement points :).

Some other things that are lingering in my mind:
-friend lists using account ID instead of character name?
-some kind of Armory implementation?
-timed instances (for competitiveness)?

What are your thoughts on these kind of suggestions?