• Dear Guest,

    You're browsing our forum as a Guest meaning you can only see a portion of the forum in read-only mode.
    To view all forum nodes and be able to create threads/posts please register or log-in with your existing account.

    TwinStar team

DPSMate - A combat analyzation tool

The philisophie of the WoW-Addon-Community

  • I think a license system is fair and justified considering the work

    Votes: 5 4.1%
  • Addons have to be free, I will never donate or pay sth, just give it to me

    Votes: 17 13.9%
  • Addons have to be free and I would consider donating for a good project, that I like

    Votes: 83 68.0%
  • Addons have to be free but I'd show my support by sth else than donating

    Votes: 15 12.3%
  • Can't decide but I'd like to contribute towards the goal

    Votes: 2 1.6%

  • Total voters
    122
  • Poll closed .

Geigerkind

Authorized
Joined
Aug 9, 2014
Likes
117
Location
Germany
Build 75:
- Dispel fixes
- Fixed some parsing issues
- Added combat time display live beside the indicator and in the segment tooltip

cheers!
 

Ahlaundoh

Authorized
Joined
Jul 31, 2016
Likes
39
There's currently a bug with (at least) Windfury Totem on the damage breakdown. It goes a little like this:

Swing with windfury proc: count of Windfury Totem goes up to 1. White swing count goes up to 1.
Swing without windfury proc directly after: count of Windfury Totem goes up to 2. White swing count stays at 1.
On the second, non-windfury swing following a windfury swing, the damage from the white swing gets put into windfury totem breakdown instead of white swing damage. It's essentially doubling Windfury Totem damage in the breakdown while taking away from white swings.

Combat log:
You gain 1 extra attack through Windfury Totem.
You hit Undercity Practice Dummy for 363. (glancing)
You hit Undercity Practice Dummy for 396. (glancing)
Damage breakdown at this point is 1 count of white swing (396), 1 count of Windfury Totem (363) (which may be another bug, I'm not sure if it's supposed to be 363 white and 396 Windfury or not).
After that swing:
You hit Undercity Practice Dummy for 312. (glancing)
Damage breakdown at this point is 1 count of white swing (396), 2 counts of Windfury Totem (363, 312). It should be 2 white swings (396, 312) and 1 Windfury totem swing (363).

The total damage is correct, the parsing/breakdown is wrong.

:)
 
Last edited:

Geigerkind

Authorized
Joined
Aug 9, 2014
Likes
117
Location
Germany
Hey,

It is supposed to count one white hit as Windfury ability, since it is basically not a hit but rather the ability windfury.

As I understand you now it breaks 2 hits down into 1 white hit and 2 windfury attacks?

cheers!
 

Ahlaundoh

Authorized
Joined
Jul 31, 2016
Likes
39
Hey,

It is supposed to count one white hit as Windfury ability, since it is basically not a hit but rather the ability windfury.

As I understand you now it breaks 2 hits down into 1 white hit and 2 windfury attacks?

cheers!
Yeah. My guess is that you're also parsing the line after it says "You gain Windfury Totem.", which is the line after the two swings (1 white, 1 windfury) have already happened. The actual windfury trigger line is "You gain 1 extra attack through Windfury Totem." I guess I should've specified that above.

You gain 1 extra attack through Windfury Totem.
You hit Undercity Practice Dummy for 363. (glancing)
You hit Undercity Practice Dummy for 396. (glancing)
You gain Windfury Totem. // meaningless line
You hit Undercity Practice Dummy for 312. (glancing)

So it's storing the 312 as a windfury swing instead of a white swing, because of, I'm guessing, the "You gain Windfury Totem." line in the combat log. Whenever you get a windfury proc, it directly follows "You gain 1 extra attack through Windfury Totem." I hope this makes sense

http://i.imgur.com/rE8OyAH.png
That's 1 windfury proc, maybe this helps.

tldr You are parsing the line directly after any line that has "windfury" in it, I'm guessing. It always goes:

You gain 1 extra attack through Windfury Totem. (the actual windfury trigger line)
hit
hit
You gain Windfury Totem. (combat log bullshit)

for 1 windfury proc.
 
Last edited:

Geigerkind

Authorized
Joined
Aug 9, 2014
Likes
117
Location
Germany
Hmm,

You are playing warrior and you get the totem from someone?
It used to not output an extra swing event, which is why I checked the gain event.

I am going to work on it now, thanks for the report!

cheers!
 

Ahlaundoh

Authorized
Joined
Jul 31, 2016
Likes
39
On top of this, Windfury is being broken down incorrectly.

For example:
You gain 1 extra attack through Windfury Totem.
You hit Undercity Practice Dummy for 363. (glancing)
You hit Undercity Practice Dummy for 396. (glancing)

DPSMate will break down the first line:
You hit Undercity Practice Dummy for 363. (glancing)

as windury,

and the second line:
You hit Undercity Practice Dummy for 396. (glancing)

as a white swing.

It should instead count the second swing as a windfury totem swing and the first swing as a white swing as shown in this example of me on a level 1 with 35 attack power and rank 3 windfury totem:

http://i.imgur.com/nYhh8Ub.png

Seeing as how my damage range is 10-12, it's pretty clear that the second hit is the one that benefited from the additional attack power from Windfury Totem.

- - - Updated - - -

Hmm,

You are playing warrior and you get the totem from someone?
It used to not output an extra swing event, which is why I checked the gain event.

I am going to work on it now, thanks for the report!

cheers!
Yeah I'm 2-boxing a shaman and dropping WF totem.
 
Last edited:

Ahlaundoh

Authorized
Joined
Jul 31, 2016
Likes
39
Okay fixed it now, please try.
Still testing, but it seems as though the damage from mousing over the player on the damage meter is no longer tracking windfury; the damage from windfury is merged with white swings. It only shows when you click it:
http://i.imgur.com/GRhrSRj.png

It's still not storing the correct swing into windfury:
http://i.imgur.com/bUZxkMi.png
This is all tested without an offhand. This bug only occurs when a white swing procs windfury, resulting in two white swings directly after the windfury combat log line.

The "You gain Windfury Totem." issue with a white swing being rolled into Windfury breakdown has been fixed it seems.
 
Last edited:

Geigerkind

Authorized
Joined
Aug 9, 2014
Likes
117
Location
Germany
@up I tryed another fix, please try.

I am going to announce the majority of updates now on twitter, because recently it has become a little much work to update every forum thread if a new update has been applied.

So if you are interested, consider following me on twitter.

https://twitter.com/LegacyLogs

cheers!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 13, 2016
Likes
0
Location
America
Just a minor thing I noticed when just checking out the config, the color picker frame show under the config frame.

-Edit-
When changing bar font flags for Title bar, the font for the title bar that is displayed on the damage frame resets.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 9, 2014
Likes
117
Location
Germany
Just a minor thing I noticed when just checking out the config, the color picker frame show under the config frame.

-Edit-
When changing bar font flags for Title bar, the font for the title bar that is displayed on the damage frame resets.
Fixed. (Actually already a while ago)

Also: !!IMPORTANT!!
Please download the new version auf the Legacy Logs launcher to solve the server is not available problem!

cheers!
 

Chainsaw

Authorized
Joined
Apr 1, 2016
Likes
135
For me only the java exe is working, which is not included in the latest client.zip.
Also something annoying is that each time the client updates, all the data from the addon is deleted. so basically when you raid, forgot to start LL client and start it after raid, update comes, whole raid data is gone.
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2014
Likes
117
Location
Germany
Yah, I am working on the java version. But I am not very experienced with Java unfortunately, so it may take while.

Secondly, it is supposed to clear the logs, to prevent cheating and double uploads. Please just make sure to not forget to start the client.

I am thinking about an manual upload button. Will be included in a later version though.

cheers!
 

Geigerkind

Authorized
Joined
Aug 9, 2014
Likes
117
Location
Germany
What do you mean?
In terms of dps or damage in total?

The time measured is differently to Kronos Logs and not always the same. DPSMate measures a little more always.
 

Geigerkind

Authorized
Joined
Aug 9, 2014
Likes
117
Location
Germany
Ah okay.
The time is different. Whereas the time is counted from the first hit to the last hit on Kronos Logs, ingame I can't determine this precisely, so ingame the time is measured from the first infight to outfight.

This results in most cases in an higher time and lower dps therefore.

cheers!
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2015
Likes
10
I just don't get it...

DPSMate never seems to be accurate in comparison to Kronos Logs.....why...I want this addon to be 100% accurate
 
Top Bottom