• Dear Guest,

You're browsing our forum as a Guest meaning you can only see a portion of the forum in read-only mode.
    To view all forum nodes and be able to create threads/posts please register or log-in with your existing account.

TwinStar team

Other Help remind me what vanilla is like, and help me choose my class

Jyash

Howdy everybody,

Jyash here, I'm excited to start playing on this server. I played a night elf hunter in vanilla (clearly, you know that I was a noob from that alone, but trust me, I was neither a dishonest nor entirely incompetent player! Although a noob certainly) and mostly alliance in vanilla.

While thinking about which class to play, I'm trying to remember some things.

Are Paladins viable tanks at all past the leveling phase? Or is holy the only way to go. I remember Ret being quite useless. Also, how good are paladin's at soloing content (such as quests, being out in the world etc.)?

Druids, if I remember correctly, can tank things up to UBRS, maybe ZG and AQ 20, but not viable in Molten Core. Am I remembering correctly?

Since I didn't play much horde back in the day, how viable are shamans in their different specs?

What seems to be lacking in dungeon and raid groups? It sounds like mostly tanks from dungeons, although there are an excess of them in raids. Also, am I hearing correctly that hunters (is this actually a vanilla server? :p ) are in high demand along with mages and warlocks? This suggests that healers are in excess.

Of course these things aren't all that matter to me, nor the most important. I just thought it would be nice to check up first.

What really draws me to a class are things like, lockpicking, kiting, levitate, slow fall, stealth, feign death, resurrection, portals, summoning, etc. A lot of the really cool niche things.