• Dear Guest,

You're browsing our forum as a Guest meaning you can only see a portion of the forum in read-only mode.
    To view all forum nodes and be able to create threads/posts please register or log-in with your existing account.

TwinStar team

Druid Profession Options for Druids

Gossamer

Authorized
Hi everyone! I have decided to roll druid as my main at launch. I have been thinking a lot about profession choices. It's worth noting that I'm mostly a casual player, and I will not be "hardcore" raiding or PvPing - I will be playing for fun. I plan to level as feral with the goal of tanking 5-mans, but I'd also like to try healing, something I've never done before. Here are my options as I see them:

1. Skinning and Herbalism
Since this will be my first character, I will be poor, so two gathering professions while leveling could be a good way to make money by selling mats on the AH. Mounts are expensive, and I'll have to save up to buy the Warden Staff. Additionally, if I decide to switch to Leatherworking or Alchemy at 60, I'll have the gathering profession and the mats already.

2. Skinning and Leatherworking (Tribal)
Druids wear leather, and some of the best pre-raid tanking gear can be made with tribal leatherworking. However, is it useful while leveling? Making stuff generally seems more fun than just gathering and selling, but not if I can only make stuff below my level.

3. Herbalism and Alchemy
Good for any class, really. Is alchemy useful while leveling? Is it still as good if I'm not really going to be raiding?

Other considerations - Tailoring seems good for balance and resto druids, and enchanting is the only way to get the Smoking Heart of the Mountain trinket, but that seems like a ton of time and money for just one item. Is it really worth it?

Thanks!