• Dear Guest,

You're browsing our forum as a Guest meaning you can only see a portion of the forum in read-only mode.
    To view all forum nodes and be able to create threads/posts please register or log-in with your existing account.

TwinStar team

The Radio Silence Is Over

Hi all, new player here and all that.

I'm not new to WoW (stopped playing long before the advent of TBC) or private servers (I play on SWGemu regularly), but I'm new to WoW private servers.

NOS coverage on the news and eventual demise startled my curiosity of how would be to be back to one of the games I enjoyed the most. I must say I'm largely impressed. The professionality, dedication and effort put by the team into the server is admirable. Kudos to everyone of you.

I'm yet to take the pulse on the community, but what I've seen in these few days tells me that great times are to come. The concerns of the veteran players about the influx of new ones is absolutely understandable, but a more populated server will have a very positive outcome in the long term.

My current character is Gremdarn, Dwarven Hunter. Just drop me a line ingame if you need some good old school DPS ;)

Hopefully restricting VPN's should improve the quality of life (latency) for the rest of the players who don't have to use them. If I'm not mistaken, they add significant overhead to network traffic. Little diagram below can show how much extra crap has to be done because of tunneling.

Source: https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/suppo...ing-encapsulation-gre/25885-pmtud-ipfrag.html

I'm sorry to go offtopic on this, but as a network administrator, I could not leave this alone :laugh:

The story above is only correct if you would connect the VPN to the WoW server, which is not the case.

You connect your PC through a VPN to another "endpoint" which is usually a server or router from the VPN vendor.