• Dear Guest,

    You're browsing our forum as a Guest meaning you can only see a portion of the forum in read-only mode.
    To view all forum nodes and be able to create threads/posts please register or log-in with your existing account.

    TwinStar team

[Release] Improved Models for 1.12

Zerocool

Authorized
Joined
Sep 22, 2014
Likes
160
Location
Athens, Greece
Greetings,
So I am totally new at this, but it looks exciting. I don’t however want to change the actual model of things, say T2 to look like T10 or what ever, just to improve the graphics.

Is that possible or do I have to have all these other changes I have seen through out this post?
If you read I havent made any changes to the armors Tiers yet. It was a planned extra patch which is postponed at the moment and not sure if gonna release anytime soon.
 

Zipzo

Authorized
Joined
Mar 29, 2015
Likes
102
You've listed "Balsch's character mod" as step 5 on the instructions on the page but also say it's "not compatible" with your mod? I'm a little confused what you mean by this.
 

Zerocool

Authorized
Joined
Sep 22, 2014
Likes
160
Location
Athens, Greece
You've listed "Balsch's character mod" as step 5 on the instructions on the page but also say it's "not compatible" with your mod? I'm a little confused what you mean by this.
It clearly states on the brackets that this mod is stand alone, means it cant be used with patch 1.2, you can use it in case you want only the character models to be replaced.
 

Zipzo

Authorized
Joined
Mar 29, 2015
Likes
102
It clearly states on the brackets that this mod is stand alone, means it cant be used with patch 1.2, you can use it in case you want only the character models to be replaced.
So you can only use either your mod, or balsch's mod. NOT both? So we have to pick between enemies/graphics, or WOD character models?

If that's the case why would you make it step 5 to the process of setting up your mod?
 
Last edited:

Zerocool

Authorized
Joined
Sep 22, 2014
Likes
160
Location
Athens, Greece
Its pretty simple and not sure why you got lost there. Under the video tut you will find 3 mods, my main mod, Balsh char models mod and Leeviathan undead mod. All these 3 mods are working together, though in case that you need only the character models simply follow the link from step5 to get them.
 

Yuniel

New Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2018
Likes
0
I have to join Zipzo and say that no, it's not simple. I've spent a few hours myself trying to figure out what's what, what is compatible, what is not, what to download, what provides what - and I still haven't understood. It's just not clearly advertised/worded - very confusing.

Besides that, great work, it looks good when watching the video. :)

I tried two of the mods together, and it wasn't compatible, as the character models had face polygon issues.
I currently have the 489Mo one installed. Which one is which, and what does they do? (if I want everything, models + enemies)
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Shurgall

New Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2018
Likes
4
Hi. You were right, I had the client set in French (baguette) so now I had to download the whole game again and run the hassle with all the mods, addons, commands and set up UI again. Works marvelous ! I can't say enough thanks. So hyped to get a big WoWgasm in less than 2 hours.

*Spongebob narrator Voice* : "7 hours in queue later ...".
 

Draakmis

New Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2016
Likes
4
so i *think* i got it working.. i have a Patch-3 (which changes the log in screen) and a Patch-6. when i log into my alt account and multiple toons it works fine. When i log into my main account with me main toon (a horde Druid) the game crashes.

I log back into my Alt account, and everything works fine. but when i try to make a tuaren character the game crashes..

this just me or a known bug?
 

Yuniel

New Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2018
Likes
0
As I showed, there is two Patch-3, one that changes the log in screen and one that doesn't. Which one is the right one to use...?
 

Draakmis

New Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2016
Likes
4
As I showed, there is two Patch-3, one that changes the log in screen and one that doesn't. Which one is the right one to use...?
from what i could see in my own tinkerings:
The patch-3.mpg (Lower case) the one that does not change the log in screen - does nothing for me at all.
The patch-3.MPQ (Upper case) the one that does change the log in screen - does work, and the models are new, however I find that when I use it the game crashes when I try to select my Tauren druid, or try to make a new tauren character at all.

I think patch-6.MPQ changes the character models only if im not mistaken.
 

Zerocool

Authorized
Joined
Sep 22, 2014
Likes
160
Location
Athens, Greece
Actually, patch-3 is the main and changes everything that has to do with creatures/spells etc. patch-6 is the character models. You dont need to rename anything at all, just place the 2 mpq files inside your data folder and that's it. Bare in mind that if you have a modded client, i.e from feenix, it wont work or you will have issues. Also, it is good to delete your WDB folder often in order to avoid small loading issues or incompatibilities due to cached files.
 

Draakmis

New Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2016
Likes
4
Any idea why my wow crashes when i try to select any toon thats a tauren when i am using patch-3.MPQ?

any other race it works fine.. but when i try and play my druid he game crashes just when i select the character, I dont even get to log into the game
 

Zerocool

Authorized
Joined
Sep 22, 2014
Likes
160
Location
Athens, Greece
I guess then that something is wrong with your client. This issue was never reported by anyone before. I can provide you with my WoW.exe file which is from my clean cd installation and try it.
 

Draakmis

New Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2016
Likes
4
If you wouldnt mind? or is there a clean client from Kronos? You have been MOST helpful, thank you.

Edit* I am re-DLing from Kronos, and trying that out.
 
Last edited:

Magnifican

Authorized
Joined
Nov 2, 2014
Likes
30
How's it going? Any update soon? What is left to do before next version is ready? Im cant resist to ask now while playing Kronos III, which might be the last vanilla server to launch before classic, I really want to use your awesome patch ASAP! :cool:
 

Zerocool

Authorized
Joined
Sep 22, 2014
Likes
160
Location
Athens, Greece
How's it going? Any update soon? What is left to do before next version is ready? Im cant resist to ask now while playing Kronos III, which might be the last vanilla server to launch before classic, I really want to use your awesome patch ASAP! :cool:
Well cant say to be honest. Just pretty much soon. I'm waiting the next BfA update to check any possible changes or fixes to those models. Till now only those that I presented are working fine, rest unfortunately crash the client.
 

Zipzo

Authorized
Joined
Mar 29, 2015
Likes
102
The one thing that bugs me about the character model mod is the sheath bug. It makes your sheath look wack and it bugs me enough to throw me off of wanting to use it.

Other than that it’s pretty cool.
 
Last edited:

Magnifican

Authorized
Joined
Nov 2, 2014
Likes
30
The one thing that bugs me about the character model mod is the sheath bug. It makes your sheath look wack and it bugs me enough to throw me off of wanting to use it.

Other than that it’s pretty cool.
Never use sheating, unbind it! As long as I dont use it, it doesnt bug out and he autosheat when combat start/ends. Besides, thats not Zerocools mod :p
 

Zipzo

Authorized
Joined
Mar 29, 2015
Likes
102
I would like to point out that the download for Balch's character models mpq comes out of the box as "patch-3.mpq".

This obviously conflicts with the name of your texture pack, zero, as it is also patch-3.mpq.
 

Yuniel

New Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2018
Likes
0
Edit : I am now running Patch-3, Patch-6 and Patch-7 simultaneously, and everything seems fine so far :)
 
Last edited:
Top Bottom